Rest In Power, Godspeed you furious Hurricane: William Greaves

“I became infuriated by the racially degrading stereotypes that white film producers threw up on American screens,” he wrote in 1969. “It became clear to me that unless we black people began to produce information for screen and television there would always be a distortion of the ‘black image.’ ”


Symbiopsychotaxiplasm: Take One: (dir. William Greaves, USA, 1968, 75min, colour)

Symbiopsychotaxiplasm: Take One (photo via: http://flickfeast.co.uk/)


Mr. Greaves was proud but modest. “I thought I was going to be a hurricane, but I ended up a becoming merely a single raindrop,” he once said. “Hopefully there are other raindrops of similar mind.”

 

via William Greaves, a Documentarian and Pioneering Journalist, Dies at 87 | NYTimes.com.

