ART we LIKE: Mar Cuervo

Mar Cuervo: Destroyer (2016)


“As a ritual, I´ve started collecting what I called “edible objects” that called my attention because of their softness and fragility. They were screaming to be destroyed. I used my anger to rise against our society´s fear of the power of anger and against its obsession with perfection. Anger is usually silenced and avoided as an ostracised and negative feeling, but it is probably the strongest feeling we have and the one that make us change things.

Destroying this gentle objects is a ceremony where I funnel my inner outrage and dissatisfaction against the elements that create them in the first place.”


website  |  tumblr |  instagram


+Commentary: patriarchy, rape, and waste of food all in one art series? What is not to, errr love?!?! This is an interesting series, and watching the destroying gifs really has an oddly soothing effect, but one that also unsettles, like hypnotism against your will. 

The violence is obvious, the disconcerting notion that they are being smashed, wasted, made lesser, but then they continually loop — something not possible in life, they would further decay or become more chaotic, yet the animated gif allows them to be like a simple snatch of time, frozen moments of liberation.

